Perspective on the Election

screen-shot-2016-11-02-at-9-16-42-pmIt’s been a while since I have written a blog, but with all that is going on in our country right now concerning the election, I decided to break my silence.

In fact, I interrupted the sermon series I have been preaching on in order to launch a new series this past Sunday, one that was centered on the election.

No matter your age I am guessing you haven’t ever seen an election season quite like this one! It has been incredibly polarizing. The accusations from both parties have been out of this world. The debates have given the late night talk shows plenty of material to make fun of. And that is just the tip of the iceberg!

When it comes to how Christians have engaged in the election, here is what is absolutely fascinating to me: There are Jesus-loving, Bible-believing Christians on BOTH SIDES of the so-called aisle. And they are convinced that if Jesus was alive today, He would be on the campaign trail for THEIR candidate.

And they are certain that a vote for the OTHER candidate, will usher in the end of America as we know it, and perhaps the end of the world. Some prophetic voices out there have gone so far as to say that if one of the candidates gets elected, it’s a certain sign that the End Times are upon us and we would be wise to be working on that bunker just in case. 🙂

Believe it or not, if I took a poll of those who read my blog, you would probably be surprised that not everyone thinks that YOUR candidate is GOD’s candidate. Trust me on that.

By the way, thanks to the wonderful world of Google, I discovered that there are actually six candidates to choose from on November 8th, not just the two we are all well aware of.

And because of the election, there are a lot of emotions and actions that are coming out of Christians that simply won’t be found in Heaven: Fear. Anxiety. Confusion. Despair. Gossip. Hatred. Helplessness.

Those emotions and actions won’t exist in Heaven. So they should not exist in us right now. After all, Jesus said the will of God is simply this: “…on earth as it is in Heaven.” (Matthew 6:10).

But radio talk show hosts and 24-hour cable news networks and social media have all done an amazing job of fanning emotions like fear and anxiety into flame.

So because of all of the above, I decided to write this blog. (In fact I hope write a series of them in a short period of time. Please pray I am able to!)

Before I get any further, I want you to know up front that my goal in writing isn’t to try to convince you to vote for who I am going to vote for on November 8th. In fact, I’m going to leave you guessing when it comes to my candidate of choice.

Instead, I am going to challenge you to look at this election in a whole new way. And I am going to use the Scriptures to prove my point.

I pray that you choose to have an open mind as you read.

I say that because it is hard to do that. Especially when it comes to politics. Most of us are set in stone in our views when it comes to this subject. We assume it’s obvious regarding how our faith ought to impact our vote. And it doesn’t stop there. We also assume it’s obvious regarding how our faith should impact every person who declares Jesus to be Lord.

So it can be quite a shock to our system when someone who is Heaven-bound sees this current election differently than we do.

We tend to think who to vote FOR or who to vote AGAINST is incredibly obvious. But that would actually only be true if JESUS was running for President.

But Jesus isn’t running for President of the United States. In fact, when Jesus walked the earth 2,000 years ago, He didn’t choose to become the new Caesar in Rome either (As the Son of God, He had the power to do that if that was part of the Divine plan. But it wasn’t.)

In fact, Jesus didn’t seem to care all that much about who was the ruler of the Roman Empire. Instead, He chose to make His Kingdom come, not by ruling from the throne in Rome, but by pouring into a dozen unlikely world changers. And the ones He chose to become the Twelve were as politically diverse as Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. But that is the subject for another blog. Stay tuned! 🙂

Between now and then, let me leave you with one Scripture, a verse that is true today… and it will be true on November 8th… and it will be true on November 9th regardless of who wins the election: “The LORD reigns…” (Psalm 93:1).

***If you liked this blog please come to The Eastside Vineyard Church this Sunday as we continue our series “Perspective on the Election.” November 6th at 10:30am (EST). More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.