Overcoming Fear

image-7I’ve already had several requests from something I shared in yesterday’s sermon, so I thought I’d share it with everyone who reads my blog as well. Enjoy!

As Christians we know how powerful words can be. After all, how did God create everything? He didn’t just THINK things into being. He SPOKE them into being.

And God said, “Let there be light…” – Genesis 1:3

But words aren’t just powerful when God uses them. They are powerful when His image bearers — you and me — use them.

The tongue has the power of life and death… – Proverbs 18:21

Words are powerful things. They have the power to tear down. To judge. To gossip.

And they have the power to encourage. To honor. To thank.

A huge aspect of what is known as “spiritual warfare” involves how we use our mouths, both in how we speak to others and how we speak to ourselves.

Have you ever muttered or possibly even yelled at yourself? Saying things like: “I’m such an idiot.” “I’m ugly.” I’ll never amount to anything.” “I’m never going to change.”

When we say things like that, according to Proverbs 18:21 we are speaking death over ourselves. But God didn’t give us a tongue and vocal cords to speak death. He gave us those gifts to speak life.

One thing I loved about attending the Tuesday night healing services with Pastor Tim and Fran is how Fran began every meeting. She always started off by speaking life over those who attended. And some of her favorite ways to do that were to read from two little booklets: God’s Creative Power for Healing and Scripture Confessions for Healing.

She’d read a page or two from one of them, and then she’d have us repeat portions of what she read. Line by line. They were always concepts rooted and grounded in the Bible, if not direct quotes from it.

As we paid tribute to Fran yesterday at our church [she passed away on February 14th after a 14-month battle with leukemia], I read an excerpt from Scripture Confessions for Healing titled “Overcoming Fear”:

I am strong and very courageous; I will not fear. I will not let fear impact my life. I am not afraid because God’s Word gives me boldness and audacity. I do not fear the devil, I fear no sickness, I fear no disease, I am not intimidated by sickness and disease, but they are intimidated by my faith in God’s Word. My faith and trust in God and His word destroys the power of fear. God has not given me a spirit of fear but of power and love and a sound mind.

I refuse to get stressed out; I refuse to worry or be anxious. I stand firm and fearless in my faith. I will not fear because God is is FOR me, God is WITH me. God is IN me. When God is for me, nothing can be against me. Because God is in me, I can conquer anything. I am bold in my faith and I refuse to let one ounce of fear enter my life. I shall not be afraid, for the Lord is my God. I shall not fear, because my confidence is in the Lord. No fear here, in Jesus’ name!!!!

What if you started off every single morning by speaking LIFE to yourself, by reading that quotation, others like it, or quoting Scripture? Not silently, but out loud.

***People love new things and this Sunday we are kicking off an all-new series at our church titled “Covered in the Dust of Your Rabbi.” Please join us as we dig deep into the Scriptures! March 8. 10:30am (EDT). More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Overcoming Fear

  1. heathermarin says:

    Had to share this with all of my face book friends. So inspiring.

Leave a Reply

