Would God Stop?

I had a number of God-moments last week when Kellie, the kids, and I attended “family camp” at Gull Lake Ministries. Here is the 2nd installment of what I am calling the “Gull Lake Chronicles.” May this God-moment speak to you as much as it spoke to me. 

One of the spiritual disciplines I practice regularly is memorizing Scripture. As I come across a verse that jumps off the page as I am reading my Bible, I get out a 3×5 card, write it down, and do my best to commit it to memory.

As I memorize it, it forces me to slow down and really think about the words in the verse. So anytime I memorize a verse, I drill down deep into it. That’s why I was especially excited about a particular teaching at Gull Lake last week. Ron Kopicko (chaplain of Spring Arbor University) taught the adults all week long and in one of the sessions he referenced a verse I had previously memorized (and thought I knew pretty well) and he pointed out something I had never thought about before.

Here’s the verse: For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him. (2 Chronicles 16:9)

I love the word picture this verse paints. God is up in heaven looking down on His creation, looking down on those He created in His image. His eyes are roaming the earth and He is looking for those who are spiritually “all in” so He can strengthen them.

Here’s the question Ron Kopicko asked: “As the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth, does God’s gaze stop on you… or do His eyes only glance at you and then continue on?” In other words, are you fully committed to God — are you spiritually “all in” — or are you fully committed to other things?

Think about that. Really think about it. As the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth, does God’s gaze stop on you… or do His eyes only glance at you and then continue on?

That question could pile on the guilt, but that was not Ron’s intention in asking it. It was to inspire!

Spend some time today reflecting on the things in your life you are more passionate about than you are about God… if you are extremely honest. 🙂 In other words, what have you been “fully committed” to since summer began… the World Cup? Your investment portfolio? The latest gossip out of Hollywood? News coverage surrounding LeBron James “going home” to Cleveland or other sports news? Your favorite TV show? Your hobby?

However you answered that question, fill that word or words in the blank below and begin to pray this prayer: “Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, may you give me the strength and ability to re-direct my passion and focus away from ________ and help me become fully committed to You instead.” Pray it every day if you have to. And see what God does on your spiritual journey this summer.

May you and I become the “those” in 2 Chronicles 16:9: For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.

***“A Modern-Day Miracle.” That’s the title of my sermon this Sunday as we continue our 7-week series on The Holy Spirit. Please join us! 10:30am. July 20th. The Eastside Vineyard Church. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Gull Lake Chronicles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

