A Thankless Job

Being a mom is a thankless job. Literally.

And it’s interesting how God uses your kids to shine light on that fact. Faith, Evelyn, and Elizabeth are incredible kids but saying “thank you” just doesn’t come naturally to them. As I have reminded them over and over again to say “thank you” when Kellie does the 1,001 things she does for them everyday, God has gently reminded me that the apple does not fall far from the tree. 🙂

It wasn’t until I was a grown adult with my own children that I realized just how much I took my mom for granted when I was a kid and a teenager. How much I simply expected (and sometimes demanded) her to do for me. Almost like I was the master and she was my slave, required to do my bidding.

In my sermon this morning one of my action steps was to say “Happy Mother’s Day” with your actions and your words… so I thought I’d take this blog to do just that. As you read my trip down memory lane below, may the Holy Spirit nudge you on the things you should thank your mom for.

Thank you mom… for driving me to my guitar lessons at Massimino Music in Fraser back when I was 15 years old, and sitting patiently in the waiting room for 30 minutes while I had my lesson each week. I don’t think I ever thanked you a single time for doing that.

Thank you mom… for driving me to all of my soccer games when I was on the Fraser Avengers “travel team” and had games all the way from Roseville to Romeo.

Thank you mom… for driving me to Macomb Mall so I could go to Harmony House, Record Town, and Musicland (remember when music stores existed???) and buy the new albums on the day they got released.

Thank you mom… for giving me $1 a day every time you were a substitute teacher and doing so “just because.”

Thank you mom… for allowing me to grow my hair out when I wanted to be a rock star. 🙂

Thank you mom… for making it possible for me to work at Imperial House as a busboy before I was old enough to drive because you offered to pick me up at midnight (or even later) when my shift was over.

Thank you mom… for grounding me in my belief in God. Even being my catechism teacher when they needed volunteers at St. Ronald’s. I may not have liked it back then (especially when it cut into Saturday morning cartoon time!) but it provided a foundation for what I believe today.

And fast forwarding from “back then” to present day… thank you mom… for volunteering every single Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church and being “Grandma Kopp” to all of the toddler-age Vineyard Kids. You are the secret weapon of the church!

Being a mom is a thankless job. Literally. May you change that today.

*** “Ignore Your Neighbor.” That is the title of my sermon on May 18th. This is week 4 of our spiritual warfare series where we are taking the sermon titles and flipping them around as if the the devil wrote them. Since God says “love your neighbor” the devil ays the opposite. May 18th. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Thankless Job

  1. ncduhalde says:

    Wonderful post, Dan! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

