Those 10 Minutes Would Change Your Life

I can’t tell you how many times I have been at church where the pastor exclaims, “This is going to change your life!” Most of the time it is an overstatement. After all how many truly “life changing” moments can we actually have?

In saying that, every once in a while there are truths we encounter that would really change our lives… if we accepted them. If we believed them.

I hope I am not guilty of overstating when I say this: what I am writing in this blog is one of those life changing truths.

At first what I write will sound like it’s all about a father-child relationship, but on a deeper level it’s about a Father-child relationship.

A few days back I began reading Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters by Meg Meeker. And God showed up on page 4. In two ways. One two levels. Here’s the first…

The book begins by talking about the critically important role a dad has in the lives of his daughters and his family. Meg Meeker does a great job putting wind in your sails as you read it. So I am reading along, reading truths how I am a natural leader in my home simply because I am the dad, how my daughters look to me for guidance that they cannot get from their mother. Great truths. Very inspirational.

And then I came across this paragraph:

“I want you to see yourself through her eyes. And I don’t want this just for her sake, but for yours, because if you could see yourself as she sees you, even for ten minutes, your life would never be the same.”

As soon as I read those words, my eyes welled up with tears. Because like most parents, I have a handful of parenting successes throughout the day and a pile of failures. Where I exhibit far less than the fruit of the Spirit toward Faith, Evelyn, and Elizabeth. I am not on Twitter but if I was, my parenting hashtag would be: #epicfail. 🙂

So as I read those words in Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters I felt like God gave me a moment — not ten minutes but a moment — to experience that truth. Where I saw myself through Faith, Evelyn, and Elizabeth’s little eyes. Where I saw myself as they see me.

Strong. Brave. Wise. Generous. Patient. Fun. Good. Great. I was like a superhero.

My eyes welled with tears. I got choked up.

What a gift. That moment. Where I saw myself through the eyes of Faith, Evelyn, and Elizabeth.

But as I sat and reflected, I felt like there was another level to this truth. I heard that still, small voice of God tell me to take that truth and re-frame. Instead of it being about how Faith, Evelyn, and Elizabeth look at me, that I was to think in terms of how God looks at me. What He feels about me. So here is that paragraph re-written from that perspective:

“I want you to see yourself through God’s eyes. For your sake. Because if you could see yourself as He sees you, even for ten minutes, your life would never be the same.”

I pray your eyes welled up with tears as you read that. That you caught a glimpse in that moment of how God truly feels about you. How He sees you.

In Zephaniah 3:17 it says: “The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with his love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

That is just one Scripture of hundreds of verses that describe how God feels about you.  How God takes great delight in YOU. How God rejoices over YOU with singing. Imagine that. May you dare to believe it.

I encourage you to carve out ten minutes today — just ten minutes — to create space to experience these truths as real. Start that time by re-reading this blog. By re-reading Zephaniah 3:17 and then closing your eyes, being still, and inviting God to give you a glimpse of how He feels about you.

Those 10 minutes would change your life.

***Please join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. We are beginning what we are calling “But What About…” Sundays where we answer tough questions of our faith. For the past few Sundays we have been talking about how God is Good…All the Time. This Sunday’s question is “But What About…the God of the Old Testament?” Where you read stories that make God appear far from good. Bring your thinking caps. And bring a few friends! February 2. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Those 10 Minutes Would Change Your Life

  1. kim says:

    A very good reminder of how He sees me.

Leave a Reply

