A Man Known to Many as “Pastor Tim”

I bet you’re like me. There are people that have made a significant impact in my life and on my spiritual journey… but I don’t thank them enough…. I don’t honor them as much as I should.

I bet you’re like me.

Here is the story of a man that God used to shape my theology and my calling. A man known to many as “Pastor Tim.”

Back in 2006, I started to hear from friends and co-workers at Kensington Church about a church in Utica that had a prayer and healing service on Tuesday nights. Kellie began hearing the same things from her network of friends, and by the third time she heard about it, we knew we had to check it out.

So on a Tuesday in March 2007 (when Kellie was 7 months pregnant with Faith) we drove down Cass Ave. into downtown Utica to Discover Church. We had never been to a “healing service” before so we weren’t sure what to expect. We actually sat in the back row near the door just in case things got weird. 🙂

They didn’t. And we kept coming back.

That very first Tuesday night we met Pastor Tim and his wife Fran, the couple that heads up the healing services. Kellie and I have said a number of times that when we are in our golden years, we hope to be as on fire for God as Pastor Tim and Fran are.

Kellie and I made attending Tuesday Nights at Discover Church a non-negotiable every week for the next couple of years. As brand new parents with a newborn, that is saying a lot!

We felt God drawing us there. It was as simple as that.

Here are some of the things we learned from Pastor Tim that shaped my theology…

“God is good… all the time. All the time… God is good.” Pastor Tim says that phrase every Tuesday and we can’t hear it enough. While the Scriptures teach how “God is love” (1 John 4:16), Kellie and I realized when we pictured God, we tended to view him as having a split-personality – that God is good… some of the time. Pastor Tim helped drill into our heads the absolute goodness of God.

“Focus on the Gospels.” Pastor Tim would often say, “If you want to know the heart and character of God, read Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.” I remember the first half dozen times he said that, I protested in my mind. Believing one’s theology of God can’t be that simple. Yet, Hebrews 1:3 says Jesus shows us exactly what God is like and other verses as well (see John 5:19, 10:30-33, 14:7-10). Over the years I have come to agree with Pastor Tim. When we think about God, we should think about Jesus.

“God still heals today.” Until we began attending Tuesday Nights, if someone was in the hospital and needed surgery I would have prayed typical prayers like ”God, guide the surgeons hands. God, give peace to the family. God, I pray for a quick recovery.” While there is nothing wrong with those prayers, it would have never crossed my mind to pray that God would supernaturally heal the person until we began attending on Tuesday Nights.

Not only did Pastor Tim shape my theology, God used him to shape my calling…

Supernatural Preaching: As we continued attending on Tuesday nights, a friendship slowly formed between Pastor Tim, Fran, Kellie, and me and he began to invite me to teach every once in a while. It was a true blessing to have this opportunity as it allowed me to teach on topics like healing, spiritual warfare, the power of prayer, and the Kingdom of God. I began to dream about preaching on Sundays on these topics.

Introduction to “The Vineyard”: Pastor Tim had an integral role to play in connecting us with The Vineyard movement. During the early part of 2008, as he taught on Tuesday nights, Pastor Tim began sharing quotes and thoughts about healing from John Wimber, founder of Association of Vineyard Churches.

Kellie and I were loving what we were hearing on Tuesday nights but one night a week to learn about healing and press into “More of God” wasn’t enough. So Kellie and I decided reading a book by John Wimber was the way to go. If he was good enough for Pastor Tim, he was good enough for us! So we purchased Power Healing and this book was an autobiography of sorts, of how the Vineyard began in 1982 and has grown to over 1,500 churches around the world. As Kellie and I read those pages out loud together, we felt drawn to learn more about The Vineyard.

At this exact same time – literally – a God “coincidence” connected me with Jim Pool who served as the Vineyard’s Great Lakes Regional Church Planting Coordinator. So Jim and I connected… and the rest is history. A couple years later, I left staff at Kensington Church and The Eastside Vineyard Church was launched.

Pastor Tim, thank you for all that you did in our lives and all that you continue to do (Kellie just went to a Tuesday Night healing service last week).

I bet you’re like me. There are people that have made a significant impact in my life and on my spiritual journey… but I don’t thank them enough…. I don’t honor them as much as I should.

Let me leave you with a question: who is your “Pastor Tim”? And how are you going to thank them?

P.S. if you want to go on a Tuesday night at 7:00pm, Pastor Tim and Fran now hold these healing services at Rochester First Assembly of God (4435 N. Rochester Rd. / at Snell Rd).

***Please join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. I will be preaching on the the focal point of our faith, the Crucifixion of Jesus in Matthew 27:32-44. We are going to do a deep dive into that passage and look at details we normally read right past on Good Friday. November 17. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Man Known to Many as “Pastor Tim”

  1. Jo Fick says:

    I have been to those healing services, but not at the new location. There was something I was told after a service when I ask to speak to someone privately, because I was struggling with some health issues, and having great difficulty in complying with all the demands of recommended care. I felt so frustrated and guilty that I wasn’t doing everything “right”. What she told me forever has changed my view; she said “Jesus did not die on the cross in order for you to feel guilt”. That just stopped me in my tracks. She encouraged me to do the best I could do, pray, and that would be enough for God. Such an enormous weight was lifted from my shoulders. It has allowed me to take on challenges, knowing I didn’t have to be perfect in order to succeed. I think it’s time to pay a visit on Tuesday night 🙂

Leave a Reply

