The Greatest Lie of All Time

I bet my blog title captured your attention. 🙂 Before I share my thoughts, let me ask you… what do you think is the greatest lie of all time? Think about it. Got an answer?

Last week I picked up a copy of “Love Does” by Bob Goff. Let me begin by saying go out and buy this book! It’s a New York Times Bestseller for good reason.

I felt compelled to blog about a quote I read in the opening pages of Love Does. In fact it appears before page 1! It’s in the Preface on page “xvi”. Here goes…

This is a weighty thing to think about…but I often consider what I’m tempted to call the greatest lie of all time. And that lie can be bound up in two words: someone else. I reflect on God, who didn’t choose someone else to express His creative presence to the  world, who didn’t tap the rock star or the popular kid to get things done. He chose you and me. We are the means, the method, the object, and the delivery vehicles.

According to Bob Goff, the greatest lie of all time is bound up in two words: someone else. As I reflected on what he wrote, I realized how right he is. Let me explain…

The apostle Paul wrote, “For the entire law is fulfilled in keeping this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Galatians 5:14). This is an astounding statement if you really think about it. That all of the commands and laws in the Scriptures boils down to one thing: loving our neighbor.

That’s why I think Bob Goff’s quote is right on. Because if we truly love our “neighbor” — whether our neighbor is our spouse, friend, child, parent, friend, roommate, co-worker, enemy — if we truly love our neighbor, we will show it by our actions. Hence the title of his book: Love Does.

That’s where the lie comes into play. The lie of “someone else.” In other words, what gets in the way of expressing that love to our neighbor? The answer is this: we think “someone else” will do it.

Someone else will visit my shut-in neighbor and give them the gift of time.

Someone else will empty the dishwasher.

Someone else will write a check to buy groceries for that family in need.

Someone else will change that diaper.

Someone else will pray for them.

Someone else will tutor that child in my son’s class who is getting behind in school.

Someone else will be the big brother or big sister that he so desperately needs.

Someone else share their faith with that person who needs to know “God is love.”

Someone else will provide a listening ear.

Someone else will lead a small group at my church.

Someone else will tell them how much they are valued and appreciated.

Someone else will volunteer at that charity.

Someone else. Someone else. Someone else.

Here is how the Preface concludes: “You see, God chooses ordinary people like us to get things done…It becomes clear to me that we need to stop plotting the course and instead just land the plane on our plans to make a difference by getting to the “do” part of faith. That’s because love is never stationary. In the end, love doesn’t just keep thinking about it or keep planning for it. Simply put: love does.”

May you and I get to the “do” part of our faith TODAY. May we reject the lie of “someone else.” May our faith express itself in love.

***Please join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. I’ll be unpacking a fascinating story: the parable of the wicked tenants in Matthew 21:33-46. Between now and then consider this question: if EVERYTHING in your life was taken from you, would Jesus be enough? Think about it. Then come on Sunday as we press into that question. April 14. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

 

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

