Step by Step…Rung by Rung

I grew up in the Catholic church so I had a steady dose of catechism throughout my youth. To be honest, I would have rather been home watching Saturday morning cartoons than going to more “school” on the weekend.

One of the stories I remember from my catechism days involved Jacob’s Ladder which is found in Genesis 28. (And being a child of the 80’s I loved the song “Jacob’s Ladder” by Huey Lewis and the News as well. But I digress…) Genesis 28 centers on a dream that Jacob had where he saw angels ascending to heaven and descending to earth. A story I knew well as a kid.

So as I was reading that chapter during my focused time with God, I was having a nice trip down memory lane.

And then God ambushed me.

I got up to verse 16 of the story which says: he thought, “Surely the Lord is in this place, and I was not aware of it.”

As I sat in my La-Z-Boy chair in my basement office, I realized what Jacob experienced 3,500 years ago was true right where I was sitting. Surely the Lord was in this place, in my basement…and I was not aware of it.

Lord, make me more aware of Your presence.

About a year ago, I read a book by Greg Boyd on this very topic. It’s titled Present Perfect and I felt compelled to share some quotes from it. May God use these words to make you more aware of Him:

I’ve become absolutely convinced that remaining aware of God’s presence is the single most important task in the life of every follower of Jesus.

Waking up to God’s presence requires nothing more than remembering God’s presence each moment.

Right now, as you read this sentence, remind yourself that you are submerged in God’s love.

All our life we’ve practiced forgetting God; may we practice remembering Him.

Whatever else may be going on in our lives, the ultimate goal must be to consciously obey what one senses God’s will to be. To “seek first the kingdom of God,” as Jesus commanded, we must first submit to God’s reign in each and every moment.

Surely the Lord is in this place, whatever place you are at as you are reading this blog…are you aware of it?

***Please join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. We’ll be continuing our verse-by-verse look at the gospel of Matthew as we dive into Matthew 18. Jesus is focused on the cross while the disciples are focused on which of them is the greatest. A perfect sermon as we head into the Christmas season which tends to be all about us instead of all about Jesus. November 18th. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

 

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Step by Step…Rung by Rung

  1. dwayne malley says:

    Love this one Dan. Seems so simple but yet profound at the same time. I’m going to start praying your quote everyday. ” Lord, make me more aware of Your presence.”

Leave a Reply

