God Blessed You

3 years ago this week the nightmare began. What I thought was a bad case of the flu turned out to be a liver abscess. Which led to two drainage procedures — one of them botched (the technician pierced my diaphragm) — which led to fluid filling up my right lung cavity…which led to getting transferred to intensive care…which led to surgery on my lung cavity…which led to three chest tubes. All in all, 25 days at Troy Beaumont. And three years ago today was Day 1 of 25.

I write that to encourage you and to encourage me to count our blessings today. It’s so easy to get caught up in the frustrating things of life. To focus on the negative stuff. To allow our joy to be stolen from us. Like when an 8 pound bag of ice fell out of our freezer about an hour ago and ice cubes exploded all over our floor. Or when your kids fight over a toy. Or when you get stuck in traffic when there shouldn’t be any traffic. Or when you pick the checkout line at Wal-Mart with the slowest cashier on planet earth.

But the reality is you are blessed…and I am blessed. Blessed beyond belief. So take some time today to reflect today on the ways God’s has blessed you, the big ways and maybe especially the small ways that are so easy to take for granted. Here are some of mine…

  •  I am blessed because I have 3 beautiful girls. And for those of you who know our story, Kellie and I struggled for 2 1/2 years with infertility and weren’t sure if we were ever going to have kids.
  • I am blessed because when I asked Kellie to marry me, she replied, “Yes, of course.”
  • And on that note I am blessed because I did NOT get married 13 years ago to the wrong person. Before marrying Kellie I was engaged to another girl. I am blessed because I had the guts to break off the engagement because I knew I would not have been choosing God’s best.
  • I am blessed because my mind functions properly so I can think clearly.
  • I am blessed because I have electricity in my home.
  • I am blessed because I have my eyesight…and the money to buy glasses to keep me seeing clearly.
  • I am blessed because I have access to clean drinking water.
  • I am blessed because I ate food today.
  • I am blessed because my mom and dad are both still alive and they live nearby and are a significant part of our lives.
  • I am blessed because I have dozens of people who pray for me every week.
  • I am blessed to pastor The Eastside Vineyard Church.
  • I am blessed because I can take a deep breath, something I couldn’t do while in intensive care.
  • I am blessed that I am healthy enough to write this blog.

You are blessed by God. I am blessed by God. Take some time to count your blessings today.

***Please join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. I will be preaching out of Matthew 17, how the disciples were filled with grief when Jesus predicted His death. Their grief made sense. After all, they didn’t know how the story was going to turn out. But we know the rest of the story…so why are we filled so often filled with grief instead of exploding with joy in our lives? Come this Sunday as we press into this. October 28th. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

 

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God Blessed You

  1. loretta says:

    …………………………..I count my blessings , daily !! Among them I count you and Kellie , twice!!
    Thank you , Dan
    ~ Loretta

Leave a Reply

