All Our Busy Rushing Ends In Nothing

“We are merely moving shadows, and all our busy rushing ends in nothing.”

That quote is from Psalm 39:6. It challenged me as I read it this morning and I bet it challenges you as well.  We are all busy. We are all in a hurry. Yet, “All our busy rushing ends in nothing.”

I am currently reading One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp and a theme found on many of its pages is about hurry.

“Being in a hurry. Getting to the next thing without fully entering the thing in front of me. I cannot think of a single advantage I’ve ever gained from being in a hurry. But a thousand broken and missed things, tens of thousands, lie in the wake of all the rushing…Through all that haste I thought I was making up time. It turns out I was throwing it away.”

Here is what is ironic about this particular blog. Since I had yet to write a blog this week I felt the pressure to get one out this morning.  Yet, because of several unscheduled pastoral commitments this week that consumed extra hours I did not have, I am way behind in my sermon prep for this Sunday.

So I felt hurried as I opened up a new document — a virtual blank sheet of paper — and quickly prayed, asking God to lead me to the topic I was to blog about.

God has a sense of humor. I felt Him lead me to blog about being in a hurry.

So I did what I knew I had to do. I slowed down. I took time I didn’t think I had to thumb through One Thousand Gifts to find the quote I typed above. And I am glad I took the time to find that quote. Because I needed to re-read it. I need to let it sink in.

May you and I slow down today.

May we be fully present in every moment.

May we not miss the gifts that God has right in front of us, if we only take the time to see them.

Now on to that sermon…

***Join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. If you enjoyed this blog, consider it a “sneak preview” for my still unfinished sermon that I will preach on Sunday. It’s titled “I’ve Got the Joy, Joy, Joy, Joy…” June 24th. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***


About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All Our Busy Rushing Ends In Nothing

  1. Debbie Potts says:

    Wow did I ever need this today. Thanks for listening to Him this morning. We all get to benefit from your lesson.

    • Dan Kopp says:

      I’m glad this blog came at the perfect time for you Debbie! And since you liked this blog I’d love to have you come check out our church sometime…like this Sunday! Because I’ll be preaching about JOY. tevchurch.org has all the info.

  2. Kathy Banasik says:

    Amen Dan. Thanks for the awesome reminder and for leading me to Psalm 39. I think time is like money in God’s economy. He multiplies it when we use it for Him. Thanks again…joy to you!

Leave a Reply

