Light Up The Sky

As someone born and raised in the Catholic church, the only “church music” that I thought existed involved a pipe organ. And I was one of those people at Mass that may have picked up the hymnal but I mouthed the words at best.

In my 20’s I began attending the midweek service at Kensington Church in Troy and was introduced to contemporary Christian “praise and worship” music. To be honest, I wasn’t a fan. In fact, I contemplated showing up to church 20 minutes late just so I could skip the singing!

Over the past several years I have done a 180 when it comes to worship music, and not just because we are part of the Association of Vineyard Churches! Jeremy Riddle, Chris Tomlin, and Jeremiah Carlson are in heavy rotation on my iPod.

This is my 142nd blog post and usually I blog about a Bible verse that hit me or a quote from a Christian book that rocked me. This is just the 2nd time I am blogging about a song.

This Sunday our worship team will be singing “Light Up the Sky” by The Afters. I never heard of that band or that song until a week ago (I am coming late to the party because the song has over one million hits on YouTube!). But it has impacted me in such a deep way and in such a short time I felt compelled to blog about it.

Back in 1998 I remember laying on the beach up north in Port Austin over Labor Day weekend and staring up at the stars. I was at an early point on my spiritual journey, where truths I learned about God as a Catholic kid were becoming real to me like never before. Tears filled my eyes as I thought about how the God that made those stars also made me…and knows me…and is with me:

“He decided how many stars there would be in the sky and gave each one a name.” – Psalm 147:4 (CEV)

“You have searched me, Lord, and you know me.” – Psalm 139:1 (NIV)

That night on the beach, God felt so huge. I felt so small, like one grain in a vast universe of sand. Yet, I knew I wasn’t overlooked by God. I wasn’t ignored by God. I was created by Him. I was known by Him.

That night on the beach was a holy moment that words can’t fully describe. But those memories flooded my mind once again as I listened to “Light Up The Sky.” The first verse and chorus are below. Read the words but PLEASE don’t stop there. I put the YouTube link of the song right below the lyrics. Click on it or copy-and-paste it in your web browser and sit back and soak in the truth that God lights up the sky with stars to show us that He is with us.

When I’m feeling all alone with so far to go
The signs are nowhere on this road guiding me home
When the night is closing in
It’s falling on my skin
Oh God will You come close?

You light up the sky to show me You are with me
And I can’t deny, no I can’t deny that You are right here with me
You’ve opened my eyes so I can see You all around me
You light up the sky to show me
You are with me…

Here’s the link to the song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6X_E2t7r1pY

***Join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. My sermon is titled “The Power of the Kingdom” as we continue our verse-by-verse look at the gospel of Matthew. Plus, we’ll be singing “Light Up the Sky” and other worship songs. Come this Sunday…and bring a friend who needs to know that God knows their name! June 17th. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Light Up The Sky

  1. Wow, awesome post, Dan! This one hit on a lot for me right now. He’s lighting up a lot more than just the sky to show me He is here!

Leave a Reply

