God Is Definitely Up To Something With This Blog Post

God is definitely up to something with this blog post. Let me explain….

I sat down at my computer this morning, feeling compelled to write a blog. Yet, I kept running in circles thinking about what to write about. Then it hit me.

I heard that still, small voice of God prompting me to list things that are true of us, ways we are blessed. As I thought about it, I recalled writing a blog about that at some point. So I did a search and found a blog titled “Count Your Blessings.” The date that I wrote it: June 7, 2011. My heart skipped a beat when I looked at today’s date on my calendar: June 7, 2012.

So exactly one year later, I felt compelled to blog about the exact same topic. I’m not certain what is significant about June 7th but I trust God has a plan…that it is not by random chance you are reading this blog the day you are reading it (even if it’s not June 7th)…that you need to read and absorb what I am writing. Read on…

The Sermon on the Mount is arguably Jesus’ most famous teaching. It begins with what are called The Beatitudes, a series of statements where Jesus lists those who are “blessed” in the eyes of God.

As you read Matthew 5:1-11, it becomes clear that the people we do NOT think are blessed are the people God says ARE blessed. For example, we think, “Cursed are the meek, for they will be taken advantage of” while Jesus says, “Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth” (Matthew 5:5).

People we do NOT think are blessed are the people God says are blessed. And that category of people contains someone you know very well: you.

Instead of focusing on the ways God has blessed us, we focus on ways He has not blessed us. We are like a 4-year-old who is blessed with a the day at the zoo seeing zebras and camels and polar bears but then has a meltdown because they didn’t get to see the tigers.

You are blessed. I am blessed. May we count our blessings.

Here is a list of things that are true of everyone who is a follower of Jesus Christ. [Note: this list was adapted from “Escaping the Matrix” by Greg Boyd.] It is a list of blessings we need to cling to, especially when we don’t feel blessed by God. May these truths not be just information, but may you experience them as real. In fact you may want to read them aloud and take time meditating on each truth before going on to the next statement. And I wrote them in the “first person” so they will speak to you directly:

  • I am filled with the peace and joy of God (John 14:27; Romans 14:17)
  • I am God’s beloved child (John 1:12; Ephesians 1:5)
  • I am completely forgiven, perfectly righteous, and free from condemnation (Romans 5:1; 1 Corinthians 6:20; Ephesians 1:7)
  • I am God’s glorious temple and am filled with His fullness (1 Corinthians 6:19; Ephesians 3:19)
  • I am holy and blameless (Ephesians 1:4)
  • I am the recipient of an eternal, infinitely rich inheritance (Ephesians 1:11, Ephesians 1:18; 1 Peter 1:4)
  • I am inseparable from God’s love and will never be abandoned (Matthew 28:20; Romans 8:35-39)
  • I am the beautiful bride of Christ who ravishes the heart of God (Song of Songs 4:1-15; Song of Songs 6:4-9; Ephesians 5:25-32)
  • I am one over whom the Lord rejoices, sings, and claps (Zephaniah 3:17)
  • I am the one for whom the Lord throws a party (Luke 15:7-10)
  • I am indwelled by a fearless Spirit of love and self-control (2 Timothy 1:7)
  • I am more than a conquerer in all things (Romans 8:37)

You are blessed. I am blessed. May we count our blessings.

***Join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. My sermon is titled “The #1 Thing God Is Working On In My Life Right Now.” Straight out of Matthew 13.  This will give you a window into what God is doing in my life and I guarantee it will speak to you as well. You won’t want to miss it! June 10th. 10:30am. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Is Definitely Up To Something With This Blog Post

  1. Loretta says:

    ~Dan,
    OH YES , I AM !! Oh YES we are !! If I sat a wrote down my blessings ( novel idea !! I think I will do JUST that !! ) , I would have SUCH a long list !! EVEN through ALL the sorrows , garbage , junk in life , God has ALWAYS showed up !! And especially BECAUSE of them !! I can’t imagine doing life , without HIM !!
    BECAUSE of Him,
    ~ Loretta

    • Lauren Kochan says:

      I love TESV!! This message was something only He could have known I needed … : ) This happens to me all the time here … I just feel so plugged in. May the miracle of His Presence continue to mist us as we worship Him. Thank You Father for Pastor Dan and what Your doing in and through him … and in and through TESV Church … all because of the PRECIOUS and HOLY JESUS!!
      Hugs to y’all!
      Lauren
      P.S. Hey Loretta!!! Hope you’re having a blessed one in Alaska!!! ; )

  2. debbie potts says:

    Thanks for this blog Dan. Especially the list of blessings. I am so like a small child, I have so much yet I still want more, and am ready to have a meltdown when i don’t get it. Wow! You nailed me!

Leave a Reply

