The Plants are Dead and the Basement is Flooded

If you’re like most Americans you probably own at least three Bibles. And if you’re serious about your faith you probably read it almost every day. The Bible is God’s “notebook” to us, detailed instructions how to live our lives in a way that pleases Him.

With that in mind read this excerpt and see if you can find yourself in this story . . .

Imagine that my family goes on a mission trip together for a month and we have a young married couple come and house sit for us. Before we leave I give them a notebook with 10 or 12 pages of fairly detailed instructions for taking care of the house and the pets. 

I tell them to water the plants. I write out where to find the food for the cat and how much food to give it. I remind them to get the mail. I explain that trash day is early Thursday morning. I inform them that the downstairs toilet overflows and clearly state where the shut-off valve is just in case. 

When I give them the notebook the couple commits to doing what it says.

Now I want you to imagine I come back . . . and all the plants are dead. The garage is full of trash. The toilet has been overflowing for days and the basement is flooded. Then I look in the backyard and there is a little gravesite where the cat has been buried. 

Then the couple who has been house sitting comes up and explains how helpful the notebook was. In fact they have memorized certain sections and I can see where they have highlighted different areas. They inform me that they went over parts of the notebook every night before going to bed.

What am I going to say [to them]? . . . They may have spoken words of commitment, but there is no evidence that those words meant anything.

The above is a quotation from “Not a Fan” by Kyle Idleman. Originally I was going to write a bunch of commentary about it, but on second thought I think that story speaks for itself.

***Join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. My message is titled “Fully Devoted Admirers of Jesus?” and I’ll be unpacking Matthew 7:24-29. Jesus isn’t interested in attracting a crowd. He doesn’t want people to be admirers of Him. To be His fans. Sunday. October 23. 10:30am. Shelby Jr. High. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

