A Sweet Moment That Lasted Much Longer Than a Moment

It wasn’t the Cincinnati Zoo. It wasn’t the Children’s Museum. It wasn’t Cedar Point or Soak City. It was in the hotel pool with my 2-year-old. As Psalm 127 says, “Children are a gift from the Lord.” Let me explain . . .

Over the past week, Kellie, the kids, and I spent five days on a whirlwind tour of Ohio — Cincinnati, Columbus, and Sandusky. By the way, Cincy is a *very* cool town.

If you asked me the best moment in time of our family vacation, it wasn’t any of the things I began my blog with. It happened on Sunday afternoon. We attended Vineyard Columbus (it was so refreshing to simply go to church and not have 101 responsibilities at the church in the process). Then we checked into our hotel and the kids could not wait to go swimming.

So Faith, Evelyn, and I put on our bathing suits and headed to the pool. Since Faith is 4 and Evelyn is 2, we suited both of them up not just with “water wings” but with those full body floating suits.

Faith did pretty good “swimming” (floating) on her own but Evelyn did not want her daddy to let go of her. Too much fear. Too much unknown for her. For the next 15 minutes or so I simply held my second born in the water. I held her. She held me. Our faces were less than a foot apart. It was such a sweet moment that lasted for much longer than a moment. I got caught up in it.

And I am getting caught up in it once again as I am typing this. Tears in my eyes.

At home we read books together, the kids play “climb on daddy” and stuff like that. But I don’t enjoy my kids enough. I don’t hold them enough. For long enough. So I didn’t want that moment in the pool to end. But it did.

We got out of the pool, ate some dinner, and I couldn’t wait to go swimming again. Wanting more precious moments with my little Evelyn. So I volunteered to take the kids swimming again while Kellie cared for our baby.

We went into the water. I was expecting history to repeat itself. But it didn’t. Evelyn was no longer afraid of the water and wanted to do what her big sister was doing. So while daddy wanted to just hold her close in the water, she wanted to venture out and swim/float on her own. So that’s what she did. And I was left with no one to hold.

But that’s the way it is, isn’t it?

They say that kids grow up so fast. Blink and they will be adults. Or in this case, blink and they will go from being afraid of the water to loving it. I know that to be true and so do you. So why don’t we take more time to simply “be” with our kids?

***Join us this Sunday at The Eastside Vineyard Church. I will be preaching out of Matthew 6, looking at a teaching of Jesus that He commanded but that we treat as optional in our American version of Christianity. Sunday. August 14th. 6pm. More info at tevchurch.org***

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Sweet Moment That Lasted Much Longer Than a Moment

  1. John & Kathy Banasik says:

    We all need to cherish those sweet memories. Thank God they continue to come, in different ways. Down the road, they return with our grandchildren. God is so good.
    Thank you for sharing your heart!

Leave a Reply

