Praying on Autopilot

Several weeks ago Kellie asked me what some of my all-time favorite Bible verses were. That led me to take a trip down memory lane and I wanted to share my Top 10 verses and why they impacted me. Here’s the 10th and final one on my list. May God speak to you about your story as you read mine.

Matthew 6:10 (NIV)“. . . your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.”

Why this verse is in my Top 10: This is part of The Lord’s Prayer, something I prayed as a Catholic every week at Mass. And probably because I said that prayer so frequently, I went on “autopilot” when I prayed it, saying the words without really thinking about what I was saying.

Then a few years ago, I turned off my autopilot and began really thinking through one line in that prayer – “. . . your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.” I used to think God was in meticulous control of every single event on planet earth. So, everything that happened was according to God’s will. But if that was true, if God’s will was already being perfectly done on earth, that prayer would make no sense, would it? Think about that.

Jesus came to usher in the Kingdom of God by both is words and actions. Heaven was literally invading earth by the words and actions of Jesus. There is no hunger in heaven so when Jesus fed the hungry he was making God’s Kingdom come and His will be done on earth as it already is being done up in heaven. In the same way, here are some other things that are not in heaven: thirst, fear, disease, sickness, depression, loneliness, pain, shame, self-loathing, war, or poverty. And when you read the gospels, Jesus was all about eradicating those things on earth. And our job as Jesus’ disciples is to do what our Rabbi did, by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Jesus calls us to pray that God’s kingdom would come and His will would be done on earth. And here’s the key – never pray a prayer you aren’t willing to be the answer to yourself. In other words, while we are called to pray The Lord’s Prayer, we are also called to do The Lord’s Prayer…to be the hands and feet of Jesus to transform the world one life at a time with the love of Jesus Christ.

***Note: Please join us Sunday December 19th at 6:00pm. This will be the next monthly “preview service” of The Eastside Vineyard Church. It will also be our Christmas service! We’ll have a time of worship (singing your favorite Christmas carols), an in-depth Bible message, communion, and an opportunity to receive 1-on-1 prayer. Go to tevchurch.org for all the details.***


 

About Dan Kopp

In 2010 Dan and Kellie felt the call by God to plant a church somewhere in Macomb County, Michigan. Several months later The Eastside Vineyard Church launched and currently meets inside Shelby Jr. High in Shelby Township. This blog began in the pre-launch phase of the church and has exceeded 50,000 hits. Thanks for reading!
This entry was posted in Top 10 Bible Verses. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Praying on Autopilot

  1. Troy LaGro says:

    I have read your entire blog this morning, from your first post in July to your latest…it has been interesting series of events that has lead me here…that I hope someday I maybe able to share. In thinking about the events, I am realizing right now, that it all started, approximately 8 years ago…the first time I visited Royal Oak Vineyard when they were located in a store front on 12mile and Stephens Hwy, for all I know they may still be in the same location. I will be there tonight…not knowing what to expect but coming with an open mind and heart. Your words sturred in me many emotions that I have not felt in a long time…Looking forward to hearing you message. God Bless!!!!

    • Dan Kopp says:

      Thanks Troy. At first I wasn’t sure if you were using hyperbole when you said you read my ENTIRE blog but after meeting you last night at our church service, I realize you meant you read every single posting. Very cool! Thanks for checking out The Eastside Vineyard Church last night. I hope you felt like you were “home.” Hope to see you at our next preview service on January 16th!

      • Troy says:

        Hi Dan,
        I hope you are good week. I am interested in finding out soem of the details about the events that are taking place on Christmas day. Any way you have some one contact me?

        Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

